34th Annual Meeting of the Bioelectromagnetics Society: A Success in Brisbane!

The thirty-fourth annual meeting of the Bioelectromagnetics Society opened with a blessing from an Aboriginal Tribal Elder on June 18, 2012 and continued the long standing BEMS tradition of incorporating local flavor with scientific sessions.

Attended by over 220, the meeting featured a wide range of topics (see http://www.bems2012.com.au/2012/ for the full program) in addition to the important interactions between professional colleagues from diverse specialties such as cell biology, epidemiology, risk communication, dosimetry, electrical engineering, modeling, and more.  Five plenary sessions covered different perspectives on EMF safety, Electroporation, Risk Communication, Wind Farms and Public Health, and Epidemiology.


2012 d'Arsonval Awardee Niels Kuster

This year’s meeting featured the presentation of the d’Arsonval Award to Past President Niels Kuster.  
This award is presented upon recommendation of the BEMS Board of Directors to recognize high achievement related to bioelectromagnetics.  As noted in the citation:
takes great pleasure in awarding the d’Arsonval Medal to Niels Kuster whose creativity and accomplishments in bioelectromagnetics have expanded scientific knowledge; whose exceptional innovations have advanced biomedical science, medical therapy, and mobile communications;  whose energy, vision and wisdom as engineer, scientist, entrepreneur, and leader enrich society and inspire colleagues and students;  and who opened a portal to revolutionary models for the transfer of electromagnetic energy to vital tissues.

Global travel has made the “Man in Black” a tireless bearer of excellence in thought, deeds, and taste, a standard for scientific truth, and a smiling face recognized universally among a global family of friends—which is not to overlook the multitudinous voxels of his Virtual Family. With delight in recognizing his many enduring accomplishments, his energies dedicated to the Society’s journal, board, and as its President, and his high standing among colleagues, we, assembled in Brisbane, Australia for the Thirty-fourth Annual Meeting of the Society, proudly confer this Highest Honor in bioelectromagnetics this day, the nineteenth of June in the year two-thousand-twelve.


(l to r) C-K Chou, Shoogo Ueno, and James Lin, with President Joachim Schuz (3rd from left)

The social event featured tribal dancers performing native music and dances, culminating in the lighting of a spark on stage!  This created an appropriate backdrop for the recognition of the past d'Arsonval award winners as well as the Past Presidents in attendance.

At the annual business meeting on Thursday, members of the society witnessed the transfer of the gavel from Joachim Schuz to David Black. 

(l to r) Carl Blackman, James Lin, Frank Prato, Joachim Schuz, Shoogo Ueno, Michael Murphy, Jeff Carson


Outgoing President Joachim Schuz (l) transfers the gavel to David Black (r)

Attendees also heard presentations from Board of Directors members regarding The Society’s finances and plans for the future.  A vote among those present resulted in a near unanimous agreement to change the bylaws as proposed.  One of the key changes in the bylaws allows the Board of Directors to meet electronically, potentially saving The Society substantial costs associated with face to face meetings outside of the Annual Meeting of BEMS.

BEMS thanks the following Sponsors of their 34th Annual Meeting (representers received formal appreciation at the Social Event):

Gold sponsors

  • Telstra (represented by Mike Wood)
  • MMF (represented by Michael Milligan)
  • Brisbane City Council

Silver sponsors

  • Powerlink Queensland (represented by Keith Callaghan)
  • EPRI (Electric Power Research Institute) (represented by Gabor Mezei)
  • ENA (Energy Networks Association) (represented by Kevin Nuttal)

Bronze sponsors:

  • GSMA (represented by Jack Rowley)
  • Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association (represented by Chris Althouse)
  • SP Ausnet (a member of Singapore Power Group) (represented by Thanh Dovan)
  • Energex (represented by Kevin Nuttal)
  • EMSS (Electromagnetic Software and Systems) (represented by Marnus van Wyk)
  • Lawson Health Research Institute (represented by Frank Prato)

Conference Sponsors:

  • Lawson Health Research Institute (represented by Frank Prato)
  • AFRL (US Air Force Research Laboratory) (represented by Mike Murphy)
  • The University of Queensland 
  • Wiley (represented by James Lin)