Monte Verità Workshop Registration Opens

The registration for the Monte Verità Workshop to be held in Ascona, Switzerland from October 21-26, 2012 is now open. Detailed program and registration information are available online at As space is limited, registration will be handled on a first come, first served basis. We found a sponsor for up to 5 students to attend the workshop and present novel research in the form of an oral or poster presentation.

By registering for this workshop, you will gain access to over 25 insightful and dynamic sessions/discussions on the effects of EMF on biological processes including cancer, genome stability, cellular communication, and neurodegenerative disease. This workshop also provides a unique opportunity for you to help shape the future of bioelectromagnetics by interactively contributing your ideas and expertise to the formulation of novel hypotheses on the possible interaction mechanisms between EMF and biological tissues.

Invited speakers (see preliminary list below) from various fields ranging from engineering to medicine will present and discuss the state-of-the-art, innovative development and progress, and scientific results. With only a few presentation slots available, please contact the workshop organizer immediately if you have unpublished results to present that are relevant and significant to the goals of the workshop.

A prize will be awarded to the best poster. More information about the application process is available on the workshop website.

For questions, please contact the workshop organizer Dr. Davnah Payne by email at or by phone: +41 44 245 96 86.

I am greatly looking forward to welcoming you to the legendary Monte Verità for an invigorating and informative week of scientific debate and discussion.

Niels Kuster

Preliminary List of Speakers and Panelists

  • Prof. Peter Achermann, University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • Prof. Em. Jørgen Bach Anderson, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Dr. Cesar Cobaleda, National Research Council, Spain  
  • Prof. Heidi Danker-Hopfe, Charité University Berlin, Germany
  • Prof. Clemens Dasenbrock, Fraunhofer ITEM, Germany
  • Dr. Paul Gailey, Holophi, Switzerland
  • Prof. Yngve Hamnerius, Göteborg University, Sweden
  • Prof. Jukka Juutilainen, University of Kuopio, Finland
  • Dr. Wolfgang Kainz, Food and Drug Administration, USA  
  • Prof. Roland Kanaar, Erasmus Medical Center, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Alexandre Legros, University of Western Ontario, Canada
  • Prof. Luc Martens, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Prof. Mats-Olof Mattsson, Örebrö University, Sweden
  • Dr. Ron Melnick, Former Director of the Special Program of NTP on EMF, NIH, USA  
  • Prof. Meike Mevissen, University of Bern, Switzerland
  • Prof. MD Boris Pasche, Deputy Director of the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center, USA
  • Prof. Walter Paulus, University of Göttingen, Germany
  • Prof. Gert Frølund Petersen, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Dr. Christopher Portier, Director of CDC, USA
  • Dr. Aslak Harbo Poulsen, Danish Cancer Society, Denmark
  • Prof. MD Ching-Hon Pui, Chair of Oncology, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, USA
  • Dr. Paolo Ravazzani, National Research Council, Italy
  • Prof. Paolo Rossini, University of Foggia, Italy
  • Prof. Martin Rössli, Swiss Tropical Institute, Switzerland
  • Prof. Theodoros Samaras, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Prof. Primo Schär, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Dr. Joachim Schüz, International Agency for Research on Cancer, France
  • Prof. Rony Seger, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Prof. James Weaver, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Prof. Yi Xie, Vice-President of the China Academy of Telecommunication Research, China