2021 Election Announcement

Authored by: Andrew Wood

Published on: Jun 07, 2021

We have to vote this year for the position of Secretary (one year as Secretary-elect then two years as Secretary), Treasurer (one year as Treasurer-elect then two years as Treasurer) and for two (2) positions of Board Member (for a three-year term).

Please note that since there are on-going discussions on whether a merger between the Bioelectromagnetics Society and the European Bio- Electromagnetics Association (EBEA) will take place, the terms of office could be affected by the outcome of this process. The timetable for the formation of a merged society and the composition of its governance body is at present under discussion. In this context, it has been agreed to accept a limited number of candidates for open positions.

The nomination procedure resulted in one candidate for each of these positions.

The following members are candidates to the respective positions:

  • Secretary (first year in office as Secretary-elect): Dr Rene de Seze
  • Treasurer (first year in office as Treasurer-elect): Dr Lucas Portelli
  • Two (2) Board Members: Dr Yasir Alfadhl and Dr Tongning (Tony) Wu

Although there is only one candidate for each of the four positions, it is important that you as BEMS members, support these candidates at the highest level. 

The Society strongly relies on your support by voting for these four positions. Eligible members(*) will receive a notice from VoteNow (elections@vote-now.com) in the next few days with instructions on how to vote and short CVs of the candidates.

The elections will open on June 9th and close on June 25th.
*Eligible members: Only paid Full members (including Emeritus and Charter Members) are eligible to vote. Student and Associate members are not eligible to vote. If you haven't renewed yet, please pay the 2021 membership dues right away to ensure you receive the ballot. Click here to pay your BEMS membership dues. Please do not hesitate to contact The Bioelectromagnetics Society office (office@bems.org) with questions regarding access to your account or your membership status.

Prof. Andrew Wood
Chair, Nominating Committee