Call for nominees for d'Arsonval Award

Published on: Dec 15, 2016

The d'Arsonval Award is presented by the Society to recognize extraordinary accomplishment within the discipline of bioelectromagnetics.  The d’Arsonval Award recipients include: 

  1. 1985 - Dr. Herman P. Schwan, University of Pennsylvania
  2. 1987 - Dr. Arthur W. Guy, University of Washington
  3. 1989 - Dr. W. Ross Adey, VA Hospital, Loma Linda
  4. 1991 - Dr. C.A.L. Bassett, The Bioelectric Research Center
  5. 1993 - Dr. Carl Durney, University of Utah
  6. 1995 - Dr. Om P. Gandhi, University of Utah
  7. 1999 - Dr. Nancy Wertheimer, University of Colorado
  8. 2001 - Dr. Thomas S. Tenforde, Battelle
  9. 2003 - Dr. James C. Lin, University of Illinois, Chicago
  10. 2006 - Dr. C.K. Chou, Motorola Florida Research Lab
  11. 2007 - Dr. Eleanor Adair, Yale University and Brooks City Base
  12. 2010 - Dr. Shoogo Ueno, Kyushu University
  13. 2011 - Dr. Marvin C. Ziskin, Temple University Medical School
  14. 2012 - Dr. Niels Kuster, IT’IS, ETHZ Zurich
  15. 2013 - Dr. Frank Prato, Lawson Health Research Institute, London Ontario
  16. 2014 - Dr. Carl Blackman, US Environmental Protection Agency, Durham
  17. 2015 - Dr James Weaver, Harvard-MIT
  18. 2016 - Dr. Kenneth Foster, University of Pennsylvania

Nominations are now being solicited for the 19th Award.

The procedure for administering the Award is attached.  To summarize: a Full, Charter or Emeritus Member of BEMS  may nominate any person on the basis of extraordinary accomplishment in bioelectromagnetics;  membership of the nominee is not a prerequisite.  At its February 2013  meeting the BEMS Board agreed that candidates should be nominated in a letter  signed by one or more  members. This is a departure from previous practice in that we used to accept multiple letters of nomination for a single candidate.

Nominations will be considered by the Awards Committee and the letter (signed by one or multiple BEMS members) and supporting documents together with the recommendations of the Committee will be presented to the Board of Directors at their Winter Meeting / Electronic Board Meeting for decision.

All nominations and correspondence about the Award should be addressed to the Chair of the Awards Committee: 


 Marnus van Wyk
EMSS Consulting, 3 Meson Street, Technopark,
Stellenbosch, 7600, South Africa
Phone: +27-21-880 1880

To ensure time for consideration by the Awards Committee, all nominations and supporting materials must reach the Chair of the Awards Committee by January 27, 2017.


Description:   The purpose of the d'Arsonval Award is to recognize outstanding achievement in research in bioelectromagnetics.  The award consists of a silver medallion, a silver lapel pin, an illuminated testimonial and a US$2,000 honorarium, which are presented at the BEMS Annual Meeting.  If the travel costs will exceed the $2,000 prize, the prize is the economy round trip airfare, meeting registration and 4 nights at a reasonable hotel. The awardee is asked to keep all the receipts and will be reimbursed after sending them to the Treasurer. The maximum amount equals the cost given to plenary speakers. The award shall be given from time to time at the discretion of the Board of Directors, but no more than one award shall be given in any one year.

Eligibility: The sole requirement is extraordinary accomplishment within the discipline of bioelectromagnetics, which can consist of exceptional scientific accomplishments or practical application of electromagnetic fields for human benefit.  Membership in BEMS is not a requirement.

Criteria and Procedure for Selection of Candidates: The Awards Committee administers the Award.  The members of the Committee are appointed by the President with the approval of the BEMS Board.  Each member serves a three-year term on a rotating basis.  A Chair, is selected from the BEMS Board of Directors and will be a nonvoting member except in the case of a tie vote.  Previous Award winners shall be included on the Awards Committee for a period of 5 years after receiving the Award.  The Committee shall include consideration of nominees from the previous five years without renewed nomination letters. An existing active nomination (i.e. within its 5 year validity period) can accept updated material for substitution, however this cannot extend the validity period of this nomination.

a) Selection of Recipient:  Notice of the Award shall be published on the BEMS website and by email to the Members. Members are invited to submit names and any supporting information to the Chair of the Awards Committee.  The Committee shall evaluate the credentials of an individual proposed by any Member of the Society.  Once one or more candidates have been considered as qualified for the Award, the Chair will transmit in confidence a written recommendation with supporting information to the Board.  The Board, in turn, may reject or accept any or all candidates during any calendar year.  Acceptance of any candidate will require a two-thirds majority vote by the Board, with a quorum present and the Chair of the Awards Committee ineligible to vote.  Only one Award shall be given in any year.  The Board may, if requested, authorize travel support to help cover the cost of the attendance of the nominee to the Annual Meeting.

b) Restrictions:  No member of the Board of BEMS or the Awards Committee shall be considered a nominee for this Award during his/her tenure.  Board and Committee members do not submit letters of nomination during their tenure.

c) Timing:  Decisions regarding the d'Arsonval medal shall be made by the Board during the Winter Board Meeting or Electronic Board Meeting before the Annual Meeting at which the award is to be presented.  Immediately after the decision, the Chair of the Awards Committee shall notify the candidate(s), ensure his/her attendance at the Annual Meeting, and request that the candidate present a lecture at the Meeting.  The name of the candidate and the title of the lecture shall be published in the program of the meeting.